17th Annual Competition Fellowship Winners for 1982

The Alicia Patterson Foundation

1982 Fellowship Winners

Frank Lipsius

Frank Lipsius

Feature Writer The Financial Times of London

“The Neutralization of Europe”

Bruce Locklin

Bruce Locklin

Investigative News editor The Bergen Record

“Aspects of Organized Crime”

T.R. Reid

T.R. Reid

National News Reporter The Washington Post

“Chips: The U.S. Semiconductor Industry”

Robert Samuelson

Robert Samuelson

Economics Reporter National Journal

“Changes in the U.S. Economy since World War II”

Mercedes de Uriarte

Mercedes de Uriarte

Assistant Editor, Opinion Page Los Angeles Times

“Social Change in the U.S. and Central America”

Photos ©1981 Davide Pugliese

Judges for the 17th Annual Competition were:

Ken Auletta,

Frances FitzGerald,

Anthony Insolia,

Lance Morrow,

Victor Navasky,

Anna Quindlen,

Maggie Scarf,

Dominic Phillips

Dom Phillips 1964-2022

It is with great sadness that the Foundation acknowledges the death of Dom Phillips, who was researching solutions to protect the Amazon under his Alicia Patterson fellowship.