19th Annual Competition Fellowship Winners for 1984

The Alicia Patterson Foundation

1984 Fellowship Winners

Kai Bird

Kai Bird

Foreign Affairs Columnist  The Nation

Diplomats and Politics: A Profile of the U.S. Foreign Service.

Roger Cohn

Roger Cohn

Staff Reporter  The Philadelphia Inquirer

Public Housing in America.

George Johnson

George Johnson

Freelance Writer

Artifical Minds: The Quest to Build Computers Smarter than Humankind

David Owen

David Owen

Senior Writer  Harper’s Magazine

Standardized Testing and American Education

John Strohmeyer

John Strohmeyer

Editor and Vice President  The Bethlehem Globe-Times Pennsilvania

A Steel Company’s Battle to Survive

Photos by Ira J. Schwarz

Judges for the 19th Annual Competition were:

Mary Clay Berry, freelance writer and 1976 APF Fellow

Michael Kinsley, senior editor,  The New Republic

Jack Nelson, Washington bureau chief,  The Los Angeles Times

Robert Novak, syndicated columnist Field Syndicate

Sally Quinn, reporter,  The Wasington Post

Robert Samuelson, contributing editor,  Newsday and 1982 APF Fellow

Lou Schwartz, executive editor,  Newsday

Helen Thomas, White House correspondent,  United Press International

Dominic Phillips

Dom Phillips 1964-2022

It is with great sadness that the Foundation acknowledges the death of Dom Phillips, who was researching solutions to protect the Amazon under his Alicia Patterson fellowship.