22nd Annual Competition Fellowship Winners for 1987

The Alicia Patterson Foundation

1987 Fellowship Winners

Picture of Yvonne Baskin

Yvonne Baskin

Freelance Reporter

“The release of genetically engineered organisms into the environment”

Picture of David Burnham

David Burnham

Freelance Reporter

“The Internal Revenue Service”

Picture of Michael D'Antonio

Michael D'Antonio

Reporter Newsday

“Christian America”

Picture of Robert Friedman

Robert Friedman

Freelance Reporter

“The rise of the radical right in Israel”

Picture of Myron Levin

Myron Levin

Reporter, Los Angeles Times

“The tobacco industry”

Picture of Cristine Russell

Cristine Russell

Washington Post

“Risk and how living can be hazardous to your health”

Photos by Ira J. Schwarz

Judges for the 22nd Annual Competition were:

Fred Barnes, senior editor,  The New Republic

Andrew Glass, Washington bureau chief,  The Cox Newspapers

Steve Hess, senior fellow,  The Brookings Institution

Anthony Marro, executive editor,  Newsday

Don Noel, political columnist,  The Hartford Courant

Helen Thomas, White House correspondent,  UPI

William Woestendiek, executive director,  The Cleveland Plain Dealer

Dominic Phillips

Dom Phillips 1964-2022

It is with great sadness that the Foundation acknowledges the death of Dom Phillips, who was researching solutions to protect the Amazon under his Alicia Patterson fellowship.