38th Annual Competition Fellowships Winners for 2003

The Alicia Patterson Foundation

2003 Fellowship Winners

Diana Campbell

Diana Campbell

Fairbanks, AK – business reporter, Fairbanks Daily News-Miner

“Alaska Natives and Cancer”

John Margolies

John Margolies

New York, NY – freelance photographer and writer

“Revisiting Roadside and Main Street America”

Paul Molyneaux

Paul Molyneaux

Whiting, ME – freelance reporter

“The Untallied Costs of Salmon and Shrimp Aquaculture”

Ken Olsen

Ken Olsen

Portland, OR – reporter, The (Vancouver) Columbian

“Land Swaps/Land Scams”

Frances Stead Sellers

Frances Stead Sellers

Baltimore, MD – deputy editor, Washington Post Outlook

“Making Sense of America#146;s New Multinational Identity”

Lawrence Tye

Lawrence Tye

Cambridge, MA – correspondent, Boston Globe

“Pullman Porters and the Birth of the Black Middle Class”

Judges for the 38th annual competition were:

Sandy Close, editor, Pacific News Service

Dele Olojede, foreign editor, Newsday

Sree Sreenivasan, administrator, Online Journalism Awards and co-founder, South Asian Journalists Association; Columbia University journalism professor

Maggie Steber, director of photography, The Miami Herald and APF Fellow ‘88

Ellen Warren, senior correspondent, Chicago Tribune

In honor of Josephine Patterson Albright, a long-time benefactor of the foundation, each year one fellow is designated as the Josephine Patterson Albright fellow. For 2003, the designation is given to photojournalist John Margolies.

For program information and applications for the 40th annual competition, contact:

Alicia Patterson Foundation
1730 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Suite 850
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 393-5995

Application materials and instructions may be downloaded from our website at: www.aliciapatterson.org/APF_Application/APF_Application.html.

Applications must be postmarked by October 1, 2003.

Dominic Phillips

Dom Phillips 1964-2022

It is with great sadness that the Foundation acknowledges the death of Dom Phillips, who was researching solutions to protect the Amazon under his Alicia Patterson fellowship.