41st Annual Competition Fellowships Winners for 2006

The Alicia Patterson Foundation

2006 Fellowship Winners

Picture of Jonas Bendiksen

Jonas Bendiksen

Photographer, Magnum Photos, Inc., New York, NY

“The Places We Live: The Slums of the 21st Century”

Picture of Katherine Eban

Katherine Eban

Freelance writer, Brooklyn, NY

“The Interaction Between Public Health and Homeland Security Issues”

Picture of John Fleming

John Fleming

Editor-at-large, Anniston (AL) Star

“Economic and Social Justice in Alabama’s Black Belt”

Picture of Steve Liss

Steve Liss

Contract photographer, Time Magazine, Oak Park, IL

“Enduring Poverty in the Promised Land”

Picture of Tori Marlan

Tori Marlan

Reporter, The Chicago Reader, Chicago, IL

“Unaccompanied Minors Seeking Asylum”

Picture of Susan E. Reed

Susan E. Reed

Freelance writer, Cambridge, MA

“Activism in the Corporation”

Picture of Mitchell Tobin

Mitchell Tobin

Reporter, Arizona Daily Star

“Endangered Species of the Southwest”

Picture of Ken Ward Jr.

Ken Ward Jr.

Reporter, The Charleston (WV) Gazette

“The Curse of Coal”


WASHINGTON, D.C. — Eight journalists have been selected to receive American journalism’s oldest writing fellowship, an Alicia Patterson Foundation grant. Recipients spend their fellowship months traveling, researching, and writing articles on their projects for the APF REPORTER, a quarterly magazine published by the Foundation and available via Web site. Fellows’ articles and photo essays are reprinted in newspapers, magazines, textbooks and websites worldwide and have led to award-winning articles, books and documentaries.

Fellows are paid $17.500 for a six-month grant and $35,000 for a 12-month grant.

The winners were selected through a highly competitive process of screening by two panels of judges, as well as submitting detailed proposals, examples of past work, and references. This year’s final judging was held in Washington, D.C. at the historic former home of publisher Cissy Patterson, who was Alicia Patterson’s aunt.

More than 230 reporters, editors, and photographers have won Alicia Patterson fellowships since the foundation was established in 1965 to honor the former publisher of Newsday.

The trustees of the foundation also named one fellow in honor of Josephine Patterson Albright, who was a major benefactor of the foundation. The Josephine Patterson Albright fellow is Steve Liss, a photojournalist from Oak Park, IL.

Judges for the 41st annual competition included:

Sandy Close, founder, New California Media and editor, Pacific News Service

Rita Henley Jensen, executive director, Women’s eNews, and APF Fellow 1994

John Margolies, freelance photographer, author and APF Fellow 2003

Joel Millman, Correspondent, US/Mexico Border Bureau, Wall Street Journal and APF Fellow 1995

Clarence Page, columnist and Washington correspondent, The Chicago Tribune

The Alicia Patterson Foundation fellowship program for journalists was established in 1965 in memory of Alicia Patterson, who was editor and publisher of Newsday for nearly twenty-three years before her death in 1963. One-year grants of $35,000 and six-month grants of $17,500 are awarded to working print journalists to pursue independent projects of significant interest and to write articles based on their investigations for the APF Reporter, an actual and web magazine published quarterly by the Foundation at www.aliciapatterson.org.

For program information and applications for the 42nd annual competition, contact:

Alicia Patterson Foundation
1025 F St. NW, Suite 700,
Washington, DC 20004.
Phone: (202) 393-5995

Application materials and instructions may be downloaded from our website at: www.aliciapatterson.org/APF_Application/APF_Application.html.

Applications must be postmarked by October 1, 2006.

Dominic Phillips

Dom Phillips 1964-2022

It is with great sadness that the Foundation acknowledges the death of Dom Phillips, who was researching solutions to protect the Amazon under his Alicia Patterson fellowship.