The foundation’s fellows for 2011, and their research topics:

Andrea Bruce - Photographer, VII Network, Mt. Rainer, MD.
Afghanistan: Surviving the Choices of War

Mary Ellen Hannibal - freelance writer, San Francisco, CA
The Spine of the Continent: Climate Change and Biodiversity

Mary Kane - freelance writer, Arlington, VA
Blaming the Consumer: Predatory Finance Firms and the Tainting of Financial Literacy

Michelle Nijhuis - freelance writer, Paonia, CO
The New Ark: Rescuing Rare Species in an Age of Global Change

Craig Simons - freelance writer, Beijing, China
China’s Global Environmental Footprint

Jocelyn Stewart - freelance writer, Los Angeles, CA
Not at our Beach: The Fight for Recreational Rights

Sharon Weinberger, freelance writer, Washington, D.C.
War 2.0: How the Science of Facebook is Changing Modern Warfare

Judges for the 46th annual competition were:

Sandy Close
– founder and editor, New America Media and Pacific News Service
Mark Feldstein – associate professor, George Washington University School of Media and Public Affairs, and 
APF Fellow 2009
Robert Lee Hotz – science writer, Wall Street Journal
Laura Parker – enterprise reporter, AOL.News and APF Fellow 1996
Molly Roberts – photo editor, Smithsonian Magazine

The Alicia Patterson Foundation fellowship program for journalists was established in 1965 in memory of Alicia Patterson, who was editor and publisher of Newsday for nearly twenty-three years before her death in 1963. One-year grants of $40,000 and six-month grants of $20,000 are awarded to working print journalists and photographers. Fellows pursue independent projects of significant interest and write/illustrate articles based on their investigations for the APF Reporter, a quarterly magazine of the foundation, available at

For program information and applications for the 47th annual competition, contact the

Alicia Patterson Foundation,

1090 Vermont Ave. NW,

Suite 1000,

Washington, DC 20005.

Phone: (202) 393-5995


Applications may be downloaded at

Applications must be postmarked by October 1, 2011.